Tropical cyclone Hola dissipating reveals NASA-NOAA’s Suomi NPP Satellite data

The tropical¬†cyclone Hola that brought immense rain in Vanuata and other nearby areas is finally dissipating reveals¬†NASA-NOAA’s Suomi NPP Satellite data.

The dissipation was revealed when NASA-NOAA’s Suomi NPP satellite passed over the South Pacific Ocean it captured a visible image of Tropical Cyclone Hola being torn apart by wind shear.

On Mar. 11 Visible Infrared Imaging Radiometer Suite (VIIRS) instrument aboard NASA-NOAA’s Suomi NPP satellite showed the center of Hola fully exposed. Strong vertical wind shear pushed the bulk of clouds south and southwest of the center.

On March 11 at 0300 UTC (March 10 at 10 p.m. EST) the Joint Typhoon Warning Center issued its final warning on Tropical Cyclone Hola. At that time, the circulation was almost devoid of precipitation with the exception of the southern quadrant. At the time Hola was centered 280 miles east of Kingston Island and moving south. By 5 a.m. EDT (0900 UTC) on March 11, Hola had dissipated.

About the author

Maheen McMahon

Maheen McMahon

With multiple research papers under her belt, Maheen loves writing about science. Just fresh out of college, Mahen has great understanding about astronomy and cover space research news. You can get in touch with her here.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment